Sometimes It’s Just Filler

It’s October, and time to start writing again.

I knew it had been a while since my last post; I didn’t realize it had been six months. Time flies when you’re in college.

It’s been an interesting journey. I’ll finish the Health Information Technology program in December, if I pass the proficiency exam. I should pass, but it’s hard to be confident about a single test that decides whether I’ve been wasting the last two years of my life. My grades are good; I’ve still got an 87.38 GPA, but…if I don’t pass this exam, with a 70 or higher, I don’t pass the program.

After the proficiency exam comes the national certification exam—another opportunity for stress related ulcers.

The pace has been grueling. I’ve written some flash fiction, and a few outlines for bigger stuff, but mostly I’ve been saving my brain for classwork. It’s worked so far.

But now it’s October, and time to start writing again.

I don’t have a formal diagnosis, so I won’t claim “to be OCD” about anything. All my little tics and rituals…That’s just part of what makes me my wonderful eccentric self. But when October rolls around, I find it impossible to resist the lure of NaNoWriMo. I don’t mean, “Oh, goody! I can’t wait!” It’s more like “I have to do NaNoWriMo. It’s the only way to silence the sound of all of those keyboards clicking in my head!” Even when I don’t plan to participate, I find myself writing my 1667 every day, and getting antsy when I can’t make time for it. The few times I’ve tried to ignore the event I wind up enrolling sometime around the 10th of the month…

I haven’t had time for NaNo for the last couple of years. That hasn’t prevented me from participating, with varying degrees of success. This year is worst of all. I should be spending every waking moment studying for those exams. Instead, I’m going through my plot files, looking for something to develop.

I’ll probably end up proclaiming myself a NaNo Rebel this year. Instead of trying for the magic 50K in a single coherent story, I think I’m just going to work on shorts stories, maybe a novella. Less pressure.

Looking back at this post, it’s just filler. Sorry about that. Maybe I’ll have time for something a little more substantial soon. Maybe a piece of flash fiction.

Leave a Reply

