Whole Lotta Hats

I wear a lot of hats.

I love fedoras, especially. I have straw ones, and a wool one. I have a white one (day wear) and a brown one (evenings and wet weather) and a hounds tooth one for Saturdays in the fall. (Do I have to explain that any farther?) There’s a natural straw colored one in the car, and a grey pinstriped around here somewhere.

I’m a big fan of slouch beanies and berets, too. I hate cold weather so it’s nice to have a selection of head gear. Plus, I get to spend hours on the Internet hunting down free patterns to make and wear.

I wear a lot of hats.

I’m the mom of twin boys; I’m the mom of a daughter. I’m a knitter, a crocheter, a cross-stitcher. I’m a reader, a writer, a cat lover. My dream is to have an organic farm. I’m back in school at 50+ to earn a certificate in a Heath Science field. I’m standing on the edge of an empty nest.

Yeah, lotta hats.

All those hats have kept me from starting a blog for the last couple of years. Somehow, somewhere, I got the idea that a blog should have a theme. I’ve read book blogs, writing blogs, homeschooling blogs—you get the idea. They all have a theme. I didn’t have a theme; some days I wanted to write about sustainable living or my faith in God, other times I just wanted to share about my cats, or the delight I find in bad jokes. Too many hats…

Then it came to me. I do have a theme: me! The fact that I may be wearing a different hat each time I post shouldn’t be a deterrent. After all, I can’t be the only person with more than a single hobby, a single cause to which they are committed. Everybody has more than one hat, right?

So, no apologies; here it is. A book blog, a writing blog, a cat blog, a needle-working blog. A back to school after 50 blog. Oh, and an on the-brink-of-the-empty-nest blog. And much more. I doubt that every post is going to interest every reader and that’s okay, but every post is going to interest some readers.

I hope.

Leave a Reply

